Superintendent Elizalde welcomes all students and staff back home for 2022-23 school year

Welcome Home, all Dallas ISD students and families! I hope you all had a safe and relaxing summer. With cooler temperatures (hopefully) on the horizon, we are thrilled to be back for another year of growth, learning, and opportunity. Dallas ISD is a place that you can call home. Our new superintendent, Dr. Stephanie Elizalde, has a mission to “ensure that education is marked by excellence and equity for every single student,” and it is my personal goal to help fulfill that promise.

Dallas ISD made significant academic gains despite COVID-19 challenges and maintained its pre-pandemic state rating of 86. With the B grade from the Texas Education Agency, the district has a baseline for success as staff, students, and families begin the 2022-2023 school year. Congratulations to District 2 schools that received an “A” rating: Lakewood Elementary, Dan D. Rogers Elementary, Sudie Williams Talented and Gifted Academy, Dallas Hybrid Prep at Stephen J. Hay. Congrats as well to those with a “B” Rating: Arthur Kramer, William Lipscomb, Mockingbird, John J. Pershing, and Preston Hollow elementary schools, and Hillcrest High School. What an honor it is to be recognized for all of our hard work by the Texas Education Agency!

District 2 is proud to extend a warm welcome to many new principals to our schools. Please join me in congratulating Woodrow Wilson High School Principal Chandra D. Hooper Barnett, Benjamin Franklin Middle School Principal Chucky Viernes, Hillcrest High School Principal Terrence Florie, and J.L. Long Middle School Principal Amir Boroujerdi. We are so thrilled to have such amazing leaders on our campuses.

Over the summer, three Sudie Williams Talented and Gifted Academy 8th grade students won first place among all middle schoolers across the country for their National History Day group exhibit research project. Their project highlights the work of Women during the Vietnam war and their roles in the prevention of war. Congratulations to Victoria Hlavaty, Linus Watt, and Anisa Herrera on this great accomplishment.

For District news, continue following us on social media:

Dallas ISD Trustee
Dustin Marshall, District 2