Former Cowboys Roger Staubach, Tony Dorsett, Troy Aikman, Michael Irvin and Daryl “Moose” Johnston sat alongside Mean Joe Green (UNT), Craig James (SMU), David O’Brien (son of Heisman winner Davey O’Brien) Billy Sims (OU) Abner Hayes (Dallas Texans) and Heisman winner Tim Brown sat on the Woodrow Wilson High School stage Tuesday, reminiscing about great moments in North Texas football history. I feel touched by greatness, having been in the audience.

And remembering this history is what the event was about, Cowboys radio broadcaster Brad Sham told us before introducing the Century in the Making program, which will allow the public to get involved in the 2011 Super Bowl by voting on the greatest moments in Texas football history. A panel of sportswriters nominated 250 such moments, and voting will begin near the end of the month at

“It really is an incredible way to start the build-up to the region’s first Super Bowl,” Sham says.

Bill Lively, president of the Super Bowl host committee says this Bowl is a century in the making.

“Every Davey O’ Brien pass or Doak Walker rush up the middle; every Mean Joe Green sack at Foust Field; every unforgettable game under the Friday Night Lights; and every Cowboys championship — these events have bonded North Texas around football and set the stage for it to step into the international spotlight … for us Super Bowl XLV has truly been a Century in the Making.” (Spoken in that true NFLian melodramatic fashion that we adore.) Watch video of yesterday’s ceremony at Woodrow Wilson High School (chosen because it’s the only school ever to boast two Heisman Trophy winners) after the jump.

UPDATE : Just received an e-mail from a reader who tells us that while Woodrow is the only public high school to produce two Heisman winners, “Mater Dei High School in California, also has 2 winners. Mater Dei is a Catholic high school and a California football power.  Their first winner was John Huarte, Notre Dame 1964. Huarte was drafted and signed by the New York Jets. The same year, the Jets drafted Joe Namath, so Huarte’s fate was sealed,” he writes. “Their second winner was Matt Leinhart, USC and current Arizona Cardinal.”

Watch the video here.

Click to sign up for the Advocate's weekly news digest and be the first to know what’s happening in Lakewood/East Dallas.