*Sponsored Post*

There is nothing we can do to properly show our appreciation to all of our outstanding teachers, especially here in District 2, where I believe we have some of the best educators in the country.

As a small token of appreciation, Dallas ISD recognized and celebrated its Campus Teachers of the Year at a ceremony in early October at the Frontiers of Flight Museum. Each Campus Teacher of the Year was selected based on a variety of factors, and they are now invited to apply to be considered for the Dallas ISD Teacher of the Year. 

Here are the Campus Teachers of the Year in District 2:

Hillcrest High School: Mary Griffin
North Dallas High School: Mary Ann Naig
Woodrow Wilson High School: Anne Burdick
Benjamin Franklin International Exploratory Academy: Angela Warner
J.L. Long Middle School: Nadirah Shakir
Henry W. Longfellow Career Exploration Academy: Sharhonda Thornton
Mockingbird Elementary School: Megan Grados
Lakewood Elementary School: Katherine Ulanoff McMahon
Geneva Heights Elementary School: Casey Tidwell
William Lipscomb Elementary School: Vanessa Duarte
Ben Milam Elementary School: Esmeralda Hernandez
K.B. Polk Center for Academically Talented and Gifted: Anne Stevenson
Preston Hollow Elementary School: Elizabeth Kittleman
Dan D. Rogers Elementary School: Sheri Kirby

In other teacher-related news, the Junior League of Dallas awarded 50 Dallas ISD educators with grants of up to $2,000 to support innovative teaching. Four of those grants are for teachers in District 2, including a project at North Dallas High School that will help tenth- and eleventh-graders create their own apparel business.

In other District 2 news…

  • Woodrow Wilson High School celebrated its 90th birthday with a pep rally in September.
  • Busy Phillips, the actress best known from the TV show “Freaks and Geeks,” chose Geneva Heights Elementary School art teacher Natalie Herbert as the recipient of more than $8,000 in school supplies.
  • Business and community leaders served as Principals for A Day at schools across District 2, shadowing the campus leaders and participating in activities such as classroom visits and morning announcements.
  • Long Middle School Teacher Dayne Harris was named the New Teacher of the Year by the Texas Foreign Language Association.
  • The State Board of Education named Dallas ISD parent and volunteer Marnie Glaser, who tirelessly worked last school year to make Preston Hollow Elementary School a child-centered environment with a strong literacy culture, a recipient of its Heroes for Children Award. 

Dustin Marshall is the District 2 representative on the Dallas ISD Board of Trustees.

Click to sign up for the Advocate's weekly news digest and be the first to know what’s happening in Lakewood/East Dallas.