Screen-Shot-2013-03-13-at-12.06.02-PMThe League of Women Voters has chosen Swiss neighbor Harryette Ehrhardt, a retired state legislator, as the Susan B. Anthony Award winner for this year because of her determined efforts in obtaining equal rights for all citizens.

The ceremony will be at the Lakewood Country Club Feb. 13 at 11 a.m. Tickets are $75 for League of Women Voter members and $100 for non-members and are available online until Feb. 5.

Ehrhardt is also being honored by IGNITE, a group that encourages young high school and college women to become involved in local politics and seek elected leadership positions, during its 2014 Young Women’s Political Leadership Conference on Feb. 22. Because of Ehrhardt’s experience and commitment to the IGNITE mission, she is a role model for young women, IGNITE says. IGNITE is awarding her the Trailblazer of the Year Award, which you can learn more about online.

If you recall last March, the library at Holmes Middle School was dedicated to Ehrhardt, who is also a former DISD teacher and principal. The dedication was performed by none other than former First Lady Laura Bush, who was once a student of Ehrhardt’s at SMU.

Click to sign up for the Advocate's weekly news digest and be the first to know what’s happening in Lakewood/East Dallas.