Lakehill defeated Allen Academy 42-34 in the state championship game. Photography courtesy of Jacqui Nickell

Lakehill Preparatory School defeated Allen Academy 42-34 to remain unbeaten and win the school’s first Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools Six-Man Division II State Championship.

The Warriors scored first on a rushing touchdown from Ryan Henry. Then quarterback Nathan Lewis and receiver Mitchell Crow connected on two touchdowns to go up 20-0 at the end of the first quarter.

Lakehill led 26-21 at halftime, but Allen Academy took the lead 34-26 in the second half. The Warriors went ahead on two more rushing touchdowns by Henry and a receiving touchdown by Matthew McCall. The Lakehill defense held the lead in the fourth quarter and forced a turnover on downs with a minute left to seal the victory at Midway ISD Panther Stadium in Hewitt.

“We were here last year, and I knew these resilient kids would show up ready to play today,” coach Jairus Mitchell. “We as a community have been through so much this school year, and I am so proud of these kids for capitalizing on this big moment.”

Lakehill finishes the season 7-0 and sends off its six seniors with the school’s first state championship.

“These seniors have played a huge role in this football program over the last few years,” Athletic Director Bob Yttrehdahl said. “The bond these guys share with all of their teammates is special. This season was not guaranteed, and we did not know what each week would bring. We are grateful for the opportunity to get to play. Ending the season this way is a feeling I can’t describe for these kids and this community.”