In the words of Shakespeare, “We have seen better days.”

Shakespeare Dallas canceled its summer and fall programs because of the coronavirus, but the organization is writing a new storyline. In lieu of its productions, Shakespeare Dallas is presenting the Movies in the Park series, beginning Thursday at Samuell Grand Amphitheater, 1500 Tenison Parkway.

Each movie night will follow a different theme. Thursdays will feature Shakespeare-inspired movies, Fridays will feature classics and Saturdays will be reserved for family favorites. Moviegoers can enjoy the films from socially distanced seating on the amphitheater lawn.

Guests can pack a picnic or Ruthie’s Food Trucks fueled by Cafe Momentum will be on site.

“We are very much a community-driven organization,” executive director Raphael Parry said. “Movies in the Park serves as a safe way for us to remain connected to our local community during a year when traditional Shakespeare in the Park productions are not feasible.”

After canceling its summer shows, Shakespeare Dallas also suspended its fall production of “Romeo and Juliet,” scheduled for Sept. 9-Oct. 3 at Samuell Grand Park.

“While we evaluated several options to move forward, our top priority remains the continued well-being of our organization, artists and the communities we serve,” according to a Facebook post.

Movie tickets are $15 for ages 11 and up. Children 10 and under enter free. Gates will open at 7 p.m. and movies will start at 8 p.m.

The schedule is as follows:

Thursday, Oct. 1: “Shakespeare in Love”

Friday, Oct. 2: “Singin’ in the Rain”

Saturday, Oct. 3: “Jurassic Park”

Thursday, Oct. 8: “Ophelia”

Friday, Oct. 9: “Casablanca”

Saturday, Oct. 10: “Ghostbusters”

Thursday, Oct. 15: “Pride & Prejudice”

Friday, Oct. 16: “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”

Saturday, Oct. 17: “The Goonies”

*Dogs are welcome for a special “Bark at the Park” night*

Thursday, Oct. 22: “Romeo and Juliet”

Friday, Oct. 23: “A Streetcar Named Desire”

Saturday, Oct. 24: “Beetlejuice”


WANT MORE?
Click to sign up for the Advocate's weekly news digest and be the first to know what’s happening in Lakewood/East Dallas.

About the Author:

Jaime Dunaway is an editor with Advocate Media.