Photo by Gigi Ekstrom. Pictured are the Greater East Dallas Chamber of Commerce 2018 Teacher of the Year Award recipients.

The Greater East Dallas Chamber of Commerce honored six local teachers last month for their contributions to the classroom and the community. 

The 2018 Teacher of the Year Award winners are: Maria Pacheco, Martha Turner Reilly Elementary; Susan Moreno, J. L. Long Middle School; Megan Johnson, Skyline High School; Sarah Lewis, Dallas Academy; Kaye Hauschild, Lakehill Preparatory School; and Melissa Garcia, Dallas Academy.

Each winner received a $250 gift card and a gift card from Hand & Stone Massage and Facial SPA. Each school also received a $250 gift card.

The awards were presented at the Alice and Erle Nye Family Environmental Science Center at Lakehill Preparatory School.

Individuals employed as full-time teachers and coaches were eligible recipients for the award and were evaluated on their professional practice, community engagement, leadership in professional development and attention to diversity. 

Click to sign up for the Advocate's weekly news digest and be the first to know what’s happening in Lakewood/East Dallas.