Congratulations to the 18 Lakewood/East Dallas residents and groups who were nominated for the 1997 Outstanding Volunteer of the Year awards. These soon-to-be recognized volunteers tutor children, counsel people with AIDS, champion the homeless and much more.

Nominees will be honored and winners in ten categories will be announced at the 17th Annual Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Awards Celebration this month. Mayor Ron Kirk will offer the invocation and KXAS-TV Channel 5’s Romana Logan and Brad Wright will present videos featuring the winners’ volunteer contributions. The event is sponsored by the Volunteer Center of Dallas County and underwritten by Alcatel Telecom, The Dallas Morning News, Hyatt Regency Dallas, KXAS-TV, NationsBank, Northrop Grumman, Texas Instruments and this year’s chair, IBM.

1997 individual nominees include: Maida Baker, James Baldwin, John Bell, Tom Bratcher, Lola Cannon, Mary Crump, Debbie Eichner, Jennifer Gibbs, Anita and John Issacson, Richard Jimenez, Anna Koetting, Jime Merideth, Lisa Szatkiewicz, Ashley Smith Tacker, Vin Vinson, Dana Wilson and Kevin Yeats.

Group nominees include: Baylor School of Nursing Community Cares Program, Central Dallas Ministries Volunteers, Dallas CASA Volunteers, Lakehill Preparatory School Student Volunteers, Off Our Rockers, St. Luke Colonial Ministry and Volunteer Mediators at Dispute Mediation Services.

“These volunteers show us the true meaning of community spirit,” says Julie Thomas, Executive Director of the Volunteer Center. “We are proud to have a chance to acknowledge the great work they do year after year.”

If you know any of these outstanding volunteers, tell them “thank you.”

Click to sign up for the Advocate's weekly news digest and be the first to know what’s happening in Lakewood/East Dallas.

About the Author: