#fbf: The stories behind our street names

Anna Moser poses with her children (standing from left) Frieda, Charles, Otto and Tillie; (sitting) Ernest and Huldah. The Moser family originally owned dairyland in the neighborhood, which was later converted to residential lots.
Anna Moser poses with her children (standing from left) Frieda, Charles, Otto and Tillie; (sitting) Ernest and Huldah. The Moser family originally owned dairyland in the neighborhood, which was later converted to residential lots.

Ever been barreling down Henderson (or more realistically, crawling along it), and wondered who the Henderson family was? Or why so many places in Dallas carry the Vickery name?

We crawled into our dusty old digital archives and found this gem from 20 years ago, when we did “Road Trip: The story behind every street name.” 

Give it a read if you want to learn a little more about the families who pioneered Dallas, such as the Mosers above, along with the stories of some of the city’s more oddly named lanes, like the Disney streets.


WANT MORE?
Click to sign up for the Advocate's weekly news digest and be the first to know what’s happening in Lakewood/East Dallas.
Written By
More from Emily Charrier

Mrs. Baird’s Bread Company, 1401 N. Carroll

Mrs. Baird was a widow in Fort Worth trying to make ends...
Read More